There are a number of reasons your lock statuses could be changing on their own. First of all, when this occurs you will see the Updated By column will say "System". We run several automations in the background to help ease the process of returning locks. Currently, the lock will only be changed to Returned to Dropbox status in all cases.
The automations we currently run are as follows:
- Syncing third party management software data with our own. This generally occurs between 12am and 4am EST.
- SiteLink: Automatic notification to tenant's when they pay for their units or rent new units.
Aside from automations, the other possible cause for this phenomenon is when a tenant pays for their unit through the customer portal, the lock is returned, and Updated By is set to the first client admin in the company. This is a known bug as it can be confusing.